shanaverhelst

Just another WordPress.com site

My Teaching Journey December 23, 2010

Filed under: Home — shanaverhelst @ 11:29 pm

Shana Ver Helst
Secondary English & Speech Teacher
(BA & BD highly qualified)

I was not a little girl who dreamed about being a teacher. In fact, I believed with all of my ‘little girl heart’ that I would be a corporate lawyer or an advertisement executive. Yet, my fiery desires led me to a place that I would have never believed I could be a part of… the world of professional academia.
As a woman and a mother of two young children, I had come into “my own,” and knew – with every fiber of my being – that I was destined to be a teacher. I have always been incredibly passionate about language, rhetoric, communication, literature, and poetry. I realize now that the most important thing that I can do, is to share that passion and enthusiasm with the next generation of readers and writers. If I can give them a glimpse of the joy and enhancement that the English and Communication worlds can bring into their lives, I have truly succeeded.
So, who am I? I am a wife, a mother, a daughter, and a student. I love reading, writing poetry, splashing in the waves, running in a cool breeze, and spending time with friends and family. More than any of that, I now know – I am a teacher. From the tips of my toes to the top of my head, I desire nothing more than to teach. Though I wasn’t a little girl who dreamed of teaching, I can honestly say that it is truly the only thing I have ever really wanted to do in this life. I am ready to continue on this amazing journey!

 

Leave a Reply

